top of page

October 2, 1908: Cubs win as the fierce battle for first rages on. Also, old timey fashion is fun.

The three team fight for first place in the National League rages on today, and the Cubs did their part by easily defeating the Cincinnati Reds, who are pretty much going through the motions to get the season over with. Meanwhile, Pittsburgh swept a doubleheader with St. Louis and New York beat Boston, so that means the Pirates now hold a half game lead with the Giants and Cubs tied for second.

On a chilly October day in Cincinnati, the Cubs made quick work of the Reds behind a strong outing from Mordecai "Three Finger" Brown. The Miner gave up only four hits in the game, stuck out seven, and only one Reds runner made it to second base the entire day. Honestly, I don't think the Reds cared one bit. They're in fifth place with no hope of the playoffs and only have two games left on the year.

Their fans didn't care much either, with the Tribune noting that only 400 people showed up to watch the game and "most of them hung around the hot dog counter, inhaling succulent sausages with copious draughts of mustard and suds on the side." I will say this ... if I had a time machine I would love to go back and drink a couple beers, eat a sausage, and watch an old timey baseball game.

[Side note: I mean ... I'd TOTALLY go back and kill Hitler first and all, but then I think I've deserved the right to sit down and watch an old timey baseball game after my heroic time travel actions, right?]

Mmm ... sausage

This game was over pretty much from the start. In the top of the first, Shackard and Evers both walked to start the game and then scored on a single down the left field line by player-manager Frank Chance. The Peerless Leader led the offensive charge on the day with three hits and a stolen base, and he later scored this inning on a Solly Hofman sac fly that made the score 3-0 Cubs right out of the gates.

Frank Chance

It was an easy win for the Cubs, who also today finally found out that the Merkle Game from September 23rd was officially ruled a tie by the National League office. The Cubs had actually argued that they should win by forfeit because they showed up the next day to make up the game and the Giants didn't, but that appeal was denied.

At this point the league had not officially rescheduled the game, but you and I know it'll essentially be a one-game playoff on October 8th to decide the National League pennant.

Hey since we were talking about going to an old timey baseball game, let's talk about some old timey fashion! After seeing this ad in the Tribune today, I've officially decided that Carolina Panthers QB Cam Newton can ride with me in my time machine to check out the old timey game. He'll fit right in!

I was born a hundred years too late I guess

And one more fashion note ... WTF is this????

Don't look at me ... I'm hideous!

In summary, the Cubs win sends them to 96-55 on the year with three games left to play. One more game against the Reds tomorrow, then a game each against the Pirates and the Giants. Essentially, the Cubs need to win out to take the pennant, so every game is huge!


Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

bottom of page